Skip to main content

Learn about Evaluating Sources: Introduction

Accessing the CCCOnline Library

The CCCOnline Library is excited to provide student access to databases for nearly every academic area! Each research database provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, streaming academic videos, primary sources, images, newspaper articles, and more. Featured databases include: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, Literature Reference Center Plus, CINAHL Plus with Full Text,  Films on Demand, and Social Science Premium Collection.

We’ve made accessing the databases easier than ever! 

Please note: you must be enrolled in a CCCOnline course to access the CCCOnline Library databases.

  1. Select a subject or vendor from the filters on the Research Databases webpage.
  2. Access a database by selecting the Database Login icon, or click on the title for additional information. 
  3. Enter your S# when prompted.

Introduction to Evaluating Information and Web Sources:

Today, we are bombarded by information. We have to filter through all of the information we receive from the television, radio, newspaper and the Internet, not to mention what comes to us through work, our families and friends. With so much information coming our way, it is often difficult to determine just what's credible, accurate and reliable.

evaluation checklistThanks to the World Wide Web, anyone can be a publisher and writer; many people have personal Web sites, blogs or discussion boards designed to share their opinions with the rest of the world. On top of that, much of the information we receive is aimed at persuading us to buy something. And while we usually can trust news commentators and the books, magazines and newspapers we read, there have been instances where someone blatantly lied to the public and published those lies as if true. Examples here include the New York Times reporter who was fired for fraud, plagiarism and inaccuracies found in nearly half of the articles he wrote over a seven-month period in 2002; more recently, consider the CBS News/Dan Rather debacle on reporting about President George W. Bush's military service record.

While these may be extreme cases of fraudulent information, the fact remains that we must all be discerning as consumers of information. We must learn to evaluate what we read and hear in order to separate the good from the bad. As a student, you'll also be expected to find information to back up points you are making in the papers you write. Using unreliable or false information in a paper can affect your credibility with your peers and your instructors (and sometimes your grade), so it is doubly important for you to have effective information-evaluation skills. Here are two helpful guides - a step-by-step process for evaluating information sources in general, and a guide to evaluating Web information - Click on the tabs above to access the guides:

  • Step-by-Step Process for Evaluating Information Sources
  • Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages

More Information on Evaluation Information Sources:

Librarian

Brittany Dudek's picture
Brittany Dudek
Contact:
Colorado Community Colleges Online
9026 E. Sevren Place
Denver, CO 80230
720-858-2355
Website