Skip to main content
Helpful Search Tips
Helpful Searching Tips
- Here is a great video on How to Use a Database from the University of Tennessee - Chattanooga Libary
- You can search the databases using both Keywords and Subject terms. Learn the difference between searching by Keywords and Subject Terms with the Keyword and Subject Term Tutorial (see tab above). Also check out the Finding Articles Using Subject Terms Tutorial from the University of Maryland University College Libaries.
- Each database has a Basic Search Screen as well as Advanced Search features. The different databases also offer help screens. For instance, Academic Search Premier offers links to Database Help and Searching Tips; these are located near the space where you would type in your search terms.
- When you select Full Text, the database will seek out only those articles available in full text. If you don't choose Full Text, the results of your search will include both full text articles you can download, print out, or email to yourself, as well as abstracts (short summaries of the article) and citations for articles available in print format. If the article is not available in full-text through the article databases, write down the bibliographic information (Author, Title, Magazine/Journal Title, and the date). You can to your home school or local public library' interlibrary loan to obtain the full-text article.
- View the EBSCO Basic Search Tutorial
- View the EBSCO Advanced Search Guided Style Tutorial
- Seeking Information: Web vs. Library Databases Tutorial from the Colorado State University Libraries
- Need help? Ask the CCCOnline Librarian: email@example.com