Skip to main content

Library Article Database Tutorial: Database Descriptions

Database Descriptions

Database TitleDescription

Academic Search Premier (full text)

Academic Search Premier icon

This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains unmatched full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.

Business Source Premier (full text)

Business Source Premier icon

This popular business research database features the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998. It offers full-text coverage in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

CINAHL Plus w/ Full Text

CINAHL Plus Icon

CINAHL is a comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in the database, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. The database offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, and covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. 
Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection

The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 500,000 digitized pages, representing 163 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923. Due to copyright restrictions, CHNC does not generally include newspapers published after 1923. Ongoing support for maintaining and providing access to CHNC is paid for with state funds administered by the Colorado State Library and the Colorado Historical Society. CHNC continues to add new pages when community funding is located to pay the costs of digitization.

Connect to the collection directly: http://www.coloradohistoricnewspapers.org/Default/welcome.asp?skin=Colorado&QS=Skin=Colorado&e

Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete icon

Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.

**Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (with full-text)

EBSCOhost icon

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (full text)

Funk & Wagnalls icon

The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.

GreenFILE (full text)

GreenFile icon

GreenFile offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 9,100 records.

History Reference Center

History Reference Center icon

History Reference Center® features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, and also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, British Heritage, Chinese America: History & Perspectives, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History, History Review, History Today (back to January 1975), History: Reviews of New Books, Kansas History, Journal of American History, Manitoba History, Military History, Naval History, North Carolina Historical Review, Virginia Magazine of History & Biography, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,400 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Humanities Source (with full-text)

EBSCOhost icon

Humanities Source includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, books review, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

Legal Information Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center icon

Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo­, the nation's oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the ‘Legal Forms by U.S. State’ feature, users can search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms–searchable by top subject areas including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes and more. This database offers the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues.

Library Informattion Science and Technology Abstracts (with full-text)

Library Info Science & Technology Abstracts icon

Designed for librarians, this database indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. It also contains full text for more than 330 journals and nearly 30 full-text monographs. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more, and extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Literary Reference Center (with full-text)

Literary Reference Center icon

Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines & journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more. In addition, Literary Reference Center includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus and much more.

MasterFILE Premier

MasterFile icon

MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.

MAS Ultra - School Edition (full text)

MASUltra icon

Specifically designed for high school students with full text for 500 popular high school magazines; all full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents. MAS Ultra™ – School Edition also contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book); an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs; and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Middle Search Plus (full text)

MiddleSearch Plus icon

This database contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines; all full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays, and the database contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

Newspaper Source (full text)

Newspaper Source icon

Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

NoveList

Novelist icon

NoveList, a reader's advisory service, not only provides access to information on 155,000 fiction titles, but it also offers a wide range of feature content that includes author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View icon

Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. Features include a full-text database containing essays and articles that present multiple sides of an issue, hundreds of topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and Critical Thinking Guide, and guides to debate, develop arguments and write position papers, as well as the Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century

Primary Search (full text)

Primary Search Icon

Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school libraries, contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines; all full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps, and flags.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Science icon

This is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals.

Regional Business News (full text)

Regional Business News icon

Regional Business News™ is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. With daily updates, this databse provides comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications), and has full text for nearly 100 sources.

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center icon

Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a full-text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Small Engine Repair Reference icon

Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, Small Engine Repair Reference Center provides users with detailed, yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. All of the content is organized in a powerful, easy-to-use manner so that users can quickly gain the information they need.

TOPICsearch (full text)

TopicSearch icon

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. TOPICsearch™ contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.