Skip to main content

Reading Scholarly Articles: Home

Home

Accessing the CCCOnline Library

The CCCOnline Library is excited to provide student access to 33 different databases for nearly every academic area! Each research database provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, streaming academic videos, primary sources, images, newspaper articles, and more. Featured databases include: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, Literature Reference Center Plus, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, and Films on Demand.

We’ve made accessing the databases easier than ever! 

Please note: you must be enrolled in a CCCOnline course to access the CCCOnline Library databases.

  1. Select a subject or vendor from the filters on the Research Databases webpage.
  2. Access a database by selecting the Database Login icon, or click on the title for additional information. 
  3. Enter your S# when prompted.

Videos and Tutorials

Librarian

Brittany Dudek's picture
Brittany Dudek
Contact:
Colorado Community Colleges Online
9026 E. Sevren Place
Denver, CO 80230
720-858-2355
Website

Reading Scholarly Articles

Videos and Tutorials

MLA Style

Welcome!

This MLA Style Quick Guide has been designed to answer many of your common citation questions. Do you have a question that isn't listed here, but should be? Let us know! Looking for in depth information about citation styles? Please also check out our full length MLA and APA Tool Kits!

MLA Links

Here are a few links to MLA Style resources that you may find helpful. Do you have a suggestion for a link that has helped you? We would love to check it out! Please send it to cccolibrarian@ccconline.org.

Citation Questions and Answers

Research Paper Outline

Citation Creation Tools

APA Style

Welcome!

This APA Style Quick Guide has been designed to answer many of your common citation questions. Do you have a question that isn't listed here, but should be? Let us know! Looking for in depth information about citation styles? Please also check out our full length MLA and APA Tool Kits!

APA Links

Here are a few links to APA Style resources that you may find helpful. Do you have a suggestion for a link that has helped you? We would love to check it out! Please send it to cccolibrarian@ccconline.org.

Citation Questions and Answers

Research Paper Outline

Citation Creation Tools

CRAP Test

Video

This video was created for CCCOnline by Stefanie Stephens.

The CRAP Test?

Internet Dog cartoon

Steiner, Peter. "On the Internet, Nobody Knows You're a Dog." Cartoon. The New

Yorker 5 July 1993: n. pag. The New Yorker. Web. 10 Dec. 2014.

What is the CRAP Test?

The CRAP Test, developed by Molly Beestrum, is a helpful tool to use when trying to decide if a website is a credible, valid source. The CRAP Test looks at four major areas: currency, reliability, authority and purpose. When determining whether a website is credible or not, evaluate it on those four areas. Here are a few suggestions to help you think through your evaluation process.
 

Currency
  • How recent is the information?
  • How recently has the website been updated?
  • Is it current enough for your topic?

Reliability

  • What kind of information is included in the resource?
  • Is content of the resource primarily opinion?  Is is balanced?
  • Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?

Authority

  •  Who is the creator or author?
  • What are the credentials? Can you find any information about the author's background?
  • Who is the published or sponsor?
  • Are they reputable?
  • What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
  • Are there advertisements on the website? If so, are they cleared marked?

Purpose/Point of View

  • Is this fact or opinion? Does the author list sources or cite references?
  • Is it biased? Does the author seem to be trying to push an agenda or particular side?
  • Is the creator/author trying to sell you something? If so, is it clearly stated?

Adapted with gratitude from Molly Beestrum.

 

Additional CRAP Test Tools

Below are some links for slightly different adaptations of the CRAP Test. Please check out the MCHS CRAP Test evaluation rubric if you're having difficulties! It's a great tool that allows you to score each area of the website and make an informed, fact-based decision!

Academic Integrity & Plagiarism

Academic Integrity

Academic Integrity and Honesty have always been important components to being a successful college student. However, today's totally online world has magnified the importance of acting with integrity and honesty in the college classroom. We offer you helpful information on just what Academic Integrity is and why it's important as well as information on how to avoid academic dishonesty and the pitfalls of plagiarism.

Plagiarism Information

Link to Turn it in's 10 types of plagiarism infographic

Academic Integrity Information

Help!

Academic Support at Your Home College

Your home college also offers academic and tutoring support. Visit the links below to learn more about what each college offers:

Tutoring Options at CCCOnline

Having problems with a concept in your math class? Just not getting your chemistry assignment? Perhaps you’d like someone to take a look at your research to make sure your thesis is sound and you’ve organized your argument well. You have several options for getting help at CCCOnline. Check it out!

Brainfuse:

CCCOnline offers 24×7 web-based tutoring services through Brainfuse. This service supplements our existing academic support services by offering real-time online tutoring and homework help for core courses and skills 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Brainfuse is not an answering or proofreading/editing service. Students can access live tutorials in writing across many subjects, including math, accounting, business, statistics and economics, science, world languages, English, and social sciences. In addition, students can submit writing projects to Brainfuse.

To access Brainfuse, please click on the Brainfuse link located in the “External Links” widget of your COURSE home page under Helpful Links.

Online Tutoring Lab (OTL)

The CCCOnline Online Tutoring Lab (OTL) was created as a free online resource for all students taking developmental education classes.

Students are automatically enrolled in the CCCOnline OTL Center when they sign up for any of the following classes:

  • CCR092
  • CCR094
  • MAT025
  • MAT050
  • MAT055
  • MAT103
  • MAT107

Students will see the OTL listed in D2L along with their other CCCOnline classes. The tutoring lab is staffed by CCCOnline instructors who are experienced teaching our developmental ed classes.

While visiting the OTL, students can:

  • Ask questions of a CCCOnline tutor
  • Link to online tutoring and resources
  • Get additional practice with course materials
  • Arrange for private tutoring appointments via telephone or online.
  • Gain and offer encouragement to peers

Librarian

Brittany Dudek's picture
Brittany Dudek
Contact:
Colorado Community Colleges Online
9026 E. Sevren Place
Denver, CO 80230
720-858-2355
Website