Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Meta-sites, listing journals on many topics:
Online Resources: Open Access Journals on General Subjects
Open access journals allow anyone with an internet connection to access them, do not require any login credentials to access, and do not require a paid subscription. Online resources are available to anyone with an internet connection and do not require any login credentials to access. General online sources must always be carefully vetted to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,862,711 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an independent database containing over 15,000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
From the Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, and Virginia Tech. Includes journals Published by Virginia Tech Libraries.
Electronic Journals Library
The Electronic Journals Library is a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.
Genamics JournalSeek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet.
An organised links directory for the arts & humanities, listing selected open access or otherwise free ejournals.
OAJSE: Open Access Journals Search Engine
Supporting open access to scholarly research.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
The Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography (SEPB)
The Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography (SEPB) presents selected English-language articles, books, and other printed and electronic sources that are useful in understanding scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet.
Wiley Open Access
Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines.
Contact Library with suggestions