LibGuides: Open Access Journal Resources: Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals

Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals

Online Resources: Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals

Open access journals allow anyone with an internet connection to access them, do not require any login credentials to access, and do not require a paid subscription. Online resources are available to anyone with an internet connection and do not require any login credentials to access. General online sources must always be carefully vetted to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).

Ariadne
Web magazine for information professionals.
arXiv.org
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,862,711 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
BMC (Part of Springer Nature)
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
BMC Nursing
BMC Nursing is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of nursing research, training, education, and practice.
Classics Resources in Internet: Journals
(Last updated: 2012). Open Access journals related to Ancient Greek and Roman world.
College & Research Libraries (C&RL)
College & Research Libraries (C&RL) is the official scholarly research journal of the Association of College & Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association.
Communications in Information Literacy
Communications in Information Literacy (CIL) is a peer-reviewed, independently published, and open access journal devoted to advancing research, theory, and practice in the area of information literacy in higher education.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an independent database containing over 15,000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Electronic Journals
From the Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, and Virginia Tech. Includes journals Published by Virginia Tech Libraries.
Electronic Journals Library
The Electronic Journals Library is a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.
Evolutionary Psychology (EVP)
Evolutionary Psychology (EVP) publishes original, empirical research addressing human psychology guided by an evolutionary perspective.
Free Medical Journals from Amedeo.com
Medical journals available online, free, and in full-text. (Often journals are not available immediately after publication, but have an embargo on them for a publisher-set period of time.)
Genamics JournalSeek
Genamics JournalSeek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet.
Information Technology and Disabilities E-Journal
Information Technology and Disabilities (ITD) Journal is a peer-reviewed journal published by Equal Access to Software and Information (EASI) since 1994.
Interdisciplinary Journal of E-Learning and Learning Objects (IJELLO)
The academically peer refereed Interdisciplinary Journal of E-Learning and Learning Objects (IJELLO) - formerly Interdisciplinary Journal of Knowledge and Learning Objects - endeavors to provide readers around the world with the widest possible coverage of developments in E-Learning and Learning Objects, as shown in our mission statement.
Interdisciplinary Journal of Information, Knowledge, and Management (IJIKM)
The Interdisciplinary Journal of Information, Knowledge, and Management (IJIKM) is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes scholarly articles on the use of information technology to enhance organizational performance and e-learning.
International Journal of Legal Information
The official journal of the International Association of Law Libraries.
J-STAGE
J-STAGE is an electronic journal platform for science and technology information in Japan, developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). More than 90% of J-STAGE articles are available to read free online.
Journal of Digital Information
(The Journal of Digital Information published its final issue in 2012 and has ceased publication.) This site is maintained by the Texas Digital Library as an archive and contains issues published between 1998 and 2012.
Journal of Information Literacy (JIL)
The Journal of Information Literacy (JIL) publishes innovative and challenging research articles and project reports which push the boundaries of information literacy thinking in theory, practice and method, and which aim to develop deep and critical understandings of the role, contribution and impact of information literacies in everyday contexts, education and the workplace.
Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly Communication (JLSC)
The Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly Communication seeks to share useful innovations, both in thought and in practice, with the aim of encouraging scholarly exchange and the subsequent benefits that are borne of scrutiny, experimentation and debate.
Journal of Online Learning and Teaching (JOLT)
The MERLOT Journal of Online Learning and Teaching (JOLT) is a peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication that aims to promote scholarship in the use of the Internet and web-based multimedia resources in higher education.
JURN
An organised links directory for the arts & humanities, listing selected open access or otherwise free ejournals.
Library and Information Research
Library and Information Research (LIR) is published by CILIP's Library and Information Research Group (LIRG). LIRG supports and raises the profile of library and information science research and its use by CILIP members and the wider community.
LitLine
Online journals collected via LitLine, a website for the independent literary community.
Nursing Research and Practice
Nursing Research and Practice focuses on all areas of nursing and midwifery. The journal focuses on sharing data and information to support evidence-based practice.
OAJSE: Open Access Journals Search Engine
Supporting open access to scholarly research.
Online Learning Journal
The Online Learning Journal (OLJ) is an open, peer-reviewed, quarterly journal.
Open Access
From Oxford University Press (OUP). Biology and health science journals.
The Open Access Journal of Forensic Psychology (OAJFP)
(Ceased publication in 2017.) The Open Access Journal of Forensic Psychology (OAJFP) is a professional, peer reviewed journal created by & for forensic psychologists.
The Open Nursing Journal
The Open Nursing Journal, a peer-reviewed journal, is an important and reliable source of current information on developments in the field.
The Open Psychology Journal
The Open Psychology Journal is an Open Access online journal, which publishes research articles, reviews/mini-reviews, case reports, perspectives, letters and guest edited single topic issues in all areas of psychology.
Psychology Research and Behavior Management
Psychology Research and Behavior Management is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal with a focus on the science of psychology and its application in behavior management and learning.
Publications
From the National Agricultural Library. Topics include nutrition and agricultural science.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
The Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography (SEPB)
The Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography (SEPB) presents selected English-language articles, books, and other printed and electronic sources that are useful in understanding scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet.
Sociosite
From the University of Amsterdam. SocioSite is designed to get access to information and resources which are relevant for sociologists and other social scientists.
Wiley Open Access
Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines.

Open Access Journal Resources: Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals

Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals

Online Resources: Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals

Contact Library with suggestions

Do you have a suggestion for a link that has helped you? We would love to check it out! Please send it to us at https://www.ccconline.org/library-contact-us/.