Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Resources: Dictionaries
Online resources are available to anyone with an internet connection and do not require any login credentials to access. General online sources must always be carefully vetted to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).
ASL (American Sign Language) by Topic
From Gallaudet University. Not exactly a dictionary, but offers free basic sign language videos.
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, 1898 edition
From Bartleby.com. Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable comprises over 18,000 entries that reveal the etymologies, trace the origins and otherwise catalog “words with a tale to tell.”
Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Cambridge University Press has been publishing dictionaries for learners of English since 1995. Cambridge Dictionaries Online began offering these dictionaries completely free of charge in 1999.
The CMU Pronouncing Dictionary
The Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) Pronouncing Dictionary is an open-source machine-readable pronunciation dictionary for North American English that contains over 134,000 words and their pronunciations
Dictionary.com strives to enable and inspire connection, communication, learning, creativity, and expression in a world powered by words.
Duhaime's Legal Dictionary
Legal terms and concepts painstakingly researched and written by Lloyd Duhaime, Barrister, Solicitor, Attorney, and Lawyer (and Notary Public).
FOLDOC (Free Online Dictionary of Computing)
FOLDOC is a computing dictionary. It includes definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions and companies, projects, history, in fact any of the vocabulary you might expect to find in a computer dictionary.
Hypertext Webster Gateway
This hypertext Webster interface provides a point-and-click client interface (for non-linemode browsers) for accessing various dictionary services on the Internet.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary & Thesaurus
For more than 150 years, in print and now online, Merriam-Webster has been America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information.
NetLingo: The Internet Dictionary
NetLingo is dedicated to documenting Internet culture and history: the lingo, acronyms, catch phrases, monumental dates, new business terms, emerging technologies, and more that define the tech world around us.
The New Hacker's Dictionary
This document is a collection of slang terms used by various subcultures of computer hackers.
OneLook Dictionary Search
Think of this web site as a search engine for English words and phrases: if you have a word for which you'd like a definition, the search will quickly shuttle you to the web-based dictionaries that define that word.
From Connect For Education, Inc. OnMusic Dictionary is the successor of former Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary.
RhymeZone Rhyming Dictionary & Thesaurus
Find rhymes, synonyms, adjectives, and more.
Dictionaries, conjugations, and numbers in Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
From Princeton University. A large lexical database of English. Nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are grouped into sets of cognitive synonyms (synsets), each expressing a distinct concept. Synsets are interlinked by means of conceptual-semantic and lexical relations. The resulting network of meaningfully related words and concepts can be navigated with the browser.
(Not exactly a dictionary.) Wordsmith is a worldwide online community of people who share a love for words, wordplay, language, and literature.
Wordsmyth: The Educational Dictionary-Thesaurus
Free accounts offer: basic dictionary features, basic search tools, limited access to vocabulary center, and limited number of saved records.
Contact Library with suggestions