Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CCCOnline Encyclopedia Database
CCCOnline Library Databases: Encyclopedia
Please note: you must be enrolled in a CCCOnline course to access the CCCOnline Library databases. Enter your S# when prompted. While database sources are generally considered more accurate than general online resources, it is part of a researcher’s due diligence to vet sources in order to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Online Resources: Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Online resources are available to anyone with an internet connection and do not require any login credentials to access. General online sources must always be carefully vetted to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).
The Age of Fable: Or Beauties of Mythology
By Thomas Bulfinch. On Bartleby.com. Written to “teach mythology not as a study but as a relaxation from study,” these ageless volumes span the ages: from the Olympus of Zeus and the Valhalla of Thor, to the Round Table of King Arthur and the escapades of Robin Hood.
Anatomy of the Human Body
By Henry Gray. On Bartleby.com. The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
The Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives: find where the works of over 8,000 different fine artists can be viewed online.
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature: An Encyclopedia in Eighteen Volumes
From Bartleby.com. Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing. The set encompasses a wide selection of writing on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song writers, and even non-English writing, such as Yiddish and Creole.
The Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
The Cook's Thesaurus
The Cook's Thesaurus is a cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions
As the Internet's premier collection of online encyclopedias, Encyclopedia.com provides you reference entries from credible, published sources like Oxford University Press and Columbia Encyclopedia.
Mark Wade's Space Program Encyclopedia
The Britannica Group serves students, families, scholars, community members, and educators around the world.
Encyclopedia Mythica is an internet encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and religion.
The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
Third Edition of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction. All the more than 18,000 entries are free to read online.
From Refdesk.com. Since 1995, Refdesk is a free and family-friendly web site that indexes and reviews quality, credible, and current web-based resources.
Free Internet Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia composed of information available on the internet.
The Merck Manuals
The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
NatureServe Explorer 2.0
NatureServe is the definitive source for information on rare and endangered species and ecosystems in the Americas. This online guide provides information on the 100,000 species and ecosystems that we track.
The On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences (OEIS)
The main table in the OEIS is a collection of over a quarter-million number sequences.
Simonds History of American Literature
From Bibliomania. Free online literature with more than 2,000 classic texts.
The Spartacus Educational website provides a series of free history encyclopedias. Entries usually include a narrative, illustrations and primary sources. Primarily focused on England and the U.S.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.