Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Toolkit: 4: Find Background Information

Step 4: Find Background Information

| Online Reference Resource Guide | More Tips |

Woman in lab scrubs with stethescope and stack of textbooksStart out looking for basic background information on your topic. Use general reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, or almanacs to get a general introduction to your topic and the key terms used to describe the topic.

Key terms might include synonyms for the topic, or broader terms that would include the topic or appropriate subtopics.

Here's a simple example: topic is ice cream; so you should look for information under search terms such as frozen desserts, dairy products, sherbet, etc. Remember that online card catalogs and article databases search by subject term or keyword. Check out the Subject/Keyword Tutorial.

 

 

 

"Jinan" by Walt Stoneburner
is in the Public Domain

A Guide to Using Online Reference Resources:

The table below can help you use different online reference resources to find relevant background information. The Online Reference Resources page has a wide variety of resources to help you.

Types of Information Use these Reference Resources
Definitions Dictionaries & Glossaries
Short Essays Encyclopedias & Handbooks, Article Databases, Open Access Journal Collections
Information on Individuals Biographical Dictionaries
Meanings of acronyms (UNESCO, DOE, etc.) Acronyms & Abbreviations
News & Current Events Newspapers, News magazines, and News media sites
Maps Maps & Atlases
Quotes Quotation Directories
People, Companies, Organizations, or Governments Directories, Governments
Multimedia Multimedia sources
Book Reviews Book Review sources
Research Quality Web Sites Other reference collections

Return to Top


More Tips on Finding Background Information:
  1. Read background information and note any useful sources (books, journals, newspapers, web sites, etc.) listed in the bibliography at the end of the encyclopedia article or dictionary entry. These sources are good starting points for further research.
     
  2. Once you have a list of sources, the next step is to get them and do some reading. Search the online catalog at your home college library or check out the article databases. (See Step 5/Find High Quality Resources for more information.)
     
  3. As you are searching the databases or online catalog, keep track of the different subject terms that are listed on each item's record. Write those down and try a search with those terms to see what you find.
     
  4. Exploit bibliographies - check the bibliographies in the books and journals you decide might be useful for your paper; you may find additional relevant resources for your research.

Return to Top

Contact library for help

How can the library help you? Get in touch with us at https://www.ccconline.org/library-contact-us/.