We’ve made accessing the databases easier than ever!
The CCCOnline Library is excited to provide student access to 33 different databases for nearly every academic area! Each research database provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, streaming academic videos, primary sources, images, newspaper articles, and more. Featured databases include the following:
Please note: you must be enrolled in a CCCOnline course to access the CCCOnline Library databases.
"Mathematics" by Robert Scarth is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0
Please note: you must be enrolled in a CCCOnline course to access the CCCOnline Library databases. Enter your S# when prompted. While database sources are generally considered more accurate than general online resources, it is part of a researcher’s due diligence to vet sources in order to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).
Online resources are available to anyone with an internet connection and do not require any login credentials to access. General online sources must always be carefully vetted to verify appropriateness for use in a project (see the Academic Integrity and CRAP Test Guides for details).
This video was created for CCCOnline by Stefanie Stephens.
Steiner, Peter. "On the Internet, Nobody Knows You're a Dog." Cartoon. The New
Yorker 5 July 1993: n. pag. The New Yorker. Web. 10 Dec. 2014.
Reliability
Authority
Purpose/Point of View
Adapted with gratitude from Molly Beestrum.
Additional Online Resources
Academic integrity and honesty have always been important components to being a successful college student. However, today's online world has magnified the importance of acting with integrity and honesty in the college classroom. We offer you helpful information on just what Academic Integrity is and why it's important as well as information on how to avoid academic dishonesty and the pitfalls of plagiarism.
"Why Cite? York U. Libraries" by Teaching & Learning at York U. Libraries is licensed under CC BY 3.0
When researching, you must give credit where credit is due. The links in this part of the Help with Doing Research Guide will help you to do that correctly and according to the citation style required in your course.
Sometimes, the easiest way to learn about something is to complete an activity about it. Here are a few great tutorials that focus on academic integrity, and will test your knowledge and provide you with some valuable information. These activities are not related to CCCOnline or your course, so feel free to take them as many times as you'd like to ensure you're an academic integrity pro.
Goblin Threat: The Plagiarism Game
Play Lycoming College Library's Goblin Threat game to test your knowledge about plagiarism!
This APA Style Quick Guide has been designed to answer many of your common citation questions. Do you have a question that isn't listed here, but should be? Let us know! Looking for in-depth information about citation styles? Please also check out our full-length APA and MLA Toolkits!
Here are a few links to APA Style resources that you may find helpful. Do you have a suggestion for a link that has helped you? We would love to check it out! Please send it to us at https://www.ccconline.org/library-contact-us/.
Remember to always double-check machine generated citations as there may be errors.
Home College Tutoring Websites
Your home college also offers academic and tutoring support. Visit the links below to learn more about what each college offers.
Having problems with a concept in your math class? Just not getting your chemistry assignment? Perhaps you’d like someone to take a look at your research to make sure your thesis is sound and you’ve organized your argument well. You have several options for getting help at CCCOnline:
CCCOnline offers 24×7 web-based tutoring services through Brainfuse. This service supplements our existing academic support services by offering real-time online tutoring and homework help for core courses and skills 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Brainfuse is not an answering or proofreading/editing service. Students can access live tutorials in writing across many subjects, including math, accounting, business, statistics and economics, science, world languages, English, and social sciences. In addition, students can submit writing projects to Brainfuse.
To access Brainfuse, please click on the Brainfuse link located in the “External Links” widget of your COURSE home page under Helpful Links.
The CCCOnline Online Tutoring Lab (OTL) was created as a free online resource for all students taking developmental education classes.
Students are automatically enrolled in the CCCOnline OTL Center when they sign up for any of the following classes:
CCR092
CCR094
MAT025
MAT050
MAT055
MAT103
MAT107
Students will see the OTL listed in D2L along with their other CCCOnline classes. The tutoring lab is staffed by CCCOnline instructors who are experienced teaching our developmental ed classes.
While visiting the OTL, students can:
Ask questions of a CCCOnline tutor,
Link to online tutoring and resources,
Get additional practice with course materials,
Arrange for private tutoring appointments via telephone or online, and/or
Gain encouragement from and offer encouragement to peers.
